Canada Kicks Ass
NDP dumps candidate for making racist comments

Previous  1 ... 8  9  10  11  12

OnTheIce @ Tue Apr 23, 2013 4:24 pm

fifeboy fifeboy:
However, the problem of racism in Canada is a historical and ongoing problem that needs to be addressed, and starting with individual attitudes is a good place. I have seen it in classrooms in Saskatchewan, in an aboriginal community (however, in these cases, the teachers didn't stay long.) Also in non-aboriginal communities. Children don't learn well in situations where they feel excluded and downgraded. I must admit that the situation is improving with Dpt. of Ed. requirements on including native culture in the curriculum. Success in school leads to success in life, which may be an overstated idea, but considering I was a teacher, I like it.

I don't know the situation in Central Canada as I have not lived there for about 40 years.

I completely agree there is a racism problem within Canada but I would suggest it's a two way street with respect to Natives.

I think we as Canadians have embraced people of other cultures in our schools. Look at our demographics today. I think Native children would thrive in off-reserve schools just like kids from other cultures have.

fifeboy @ Tue Apr 23, 2013 4:48 pm

OnTheIce OnTheIce:

I completely agree there is a racism problem within Canada but I would suggest it's a two way street with respect to Natives.

I think we as Canadians have embraced people of other cultures in our schools. Look at our demographics today. I think Native children would thrive in off-reserve schools just like kids from other cultures have.