Canada Kicks Ass
Auto insurance reform in Ontario - A fight worth fighting?

1  2  Next

QBall @ Fri Oct 30, 2009 9:35 am

Okay so here’s a topic that’s been bugging me for a little while I want people from Ontario’s opinion on this (although all opinions are welcome). Depending on reaction I may decide to try and find others to help me approach the Ontario government to propose this idea.
First a little background on me. I was an insurance broker in Ontario from 1992-1999 when I joined the Navy and moved to B.C. In 2007 I left the Navy and became an insurance broker in B.C. until July, 2009 when I left B.C. and moved back to Ontario where I am currently an insurance broker again here in Toronto. I currently sell all lines of personal and commercial property and liability insurance here and I did the same in B.C. Recently I noticed several glaring deficiencies in Ontario’s delivery of auto insurance, deficiencies that do not exist in B.C. For those of you who are unfamiliar with the system in B.C., mandatory auto insurance coverages are sold by the Insurance Corporation of British Columbia (ICBC). You can only purchase the mandatory coverages ($200,000 liability, Uninsured Automobile, Unidentified Automobile, and Accident Benefits) from ICBC through Atuoplan brokers (which is pretty much any insurance broker in B.C.). Optional coverages (higher liability limits, collision coverage, comprehensive coverage, specified perils coverage, etc) can be purchased from ICBC or through a private insurance company. In Ontario all coverages are purchased through private insurance companies. Also in B.C. vehicle registration and plating is done at the insurance broker’s office, as opposed to Ontario where insurance is done at one place and vehicle registration/licensing is done at another location.