Canada Kicks Ass
European here, moving to Montreal: finding a job (no french)

1  2  Next

Locust @ Wed May 29, 2013 8:39 pm

Hello there, new here. I'm from Portugal, but am currently living in the UK.

My girlfriend (who is british and excellent at French) got an amazing offer in Montreal, and we're both very excited about it, however... I am not fluent (at all) in French, though I am very good at English!

I have a bachelor degree but quite honestly I don't like it and essentially just got it to please my parents, and as such I've been working at a record store these last 2 years.

So, considering I'm not legally bound to my girlfriend, how would I go about getting a "permit" of sorts to work in Montreal (basically, how does that work, where do I go and what do I have to do), and how would I got about finding a job in which my lack of French isn't an issue? I'm extremely proficient in English and Spanish (as well as Portuguese, my main language) and I actually see this as a great opportunity to improve my French (I know enough to get around, but not nearly enough to live), as Montreal is such a bilingual city.

Now, this is just to get settled in, so I don't mind working as a custodian or anything "low" level like that at all. I just need you kind folks to point me in the right direction.

We will probably be going over to Montreal sometime around October/November (although I might only be going around March 2014).

martin14 @ Wed May 29, 2013 9:09 pm

Start learning, you will have little to no chance without some French.

Take courses.. now.

Locust @ Wed May 29, 2013 9:31 pm

martin14 martin14:

Take courses.. now.

Really? Oo I will literally work ANY job... is it that hard without French? (I do speak some french, had 1 year of french classes in uni. I got around just fine in Paris on my french alone, I can express almost any idea in french, I just speak cavemen style)