Canada Kicks Ass
The Omnibus Military & War Thread

REPLY

Previous  1 ... 8  9  10  11  12  13  14  Next



Scape @ Sat Jan 08, 2022 5:12 pm





   



Scape @ Mon Jan 10, 2022 9:54 pm

   



bootlegga @ Fri Jan 14, 2022 4:52 pm

This is too interesting not to post...

   



Scape @ Sat Jan 15, 2022 2:30 am

   



raydan @ Wed Jan 26, 2022 5:28 pm

I'm trying to find information on a medallion I have, probably from my dad. Wondering if anybody here has any hints.

It's round and seems to be made out of pewter. On one side there's an idolized carving of a woman with a shovel. On the other side, the words...
ORDER OF THE SHOVEL
SILVER
CAPE SCOTT WIVES
WINTEX 61

A Google search gave me this...
https://navalandmilitarymuseum.org/wp-c ... n-1961.pdf

   



DrCaleb @ Thu Jan 27, 2022 6:55 am

raydan raydan:
I'm trying to find information on a medallion I have, probably from my dad. Wondering if anybody here has any hints.

It's round and seems to be made out of pewter. On one side there's an idolized carving of a woman with a shovel. On the other side, the words...
ORDER OF THE SHOVEL
SILVER
CAPE SCOTT WIVES
WINTEX 61

A Google search gave me this...
https://navalandmilitarymuseum.org/wp-c ... n-1961.pdf


The only reference I can find in that document is: (page 122)

$1:
At the end of the 1960 exercises in Bermuda, Cape Scott personnel struck a medal, "The Order of the Snow Shovel", for presentation to wives in home port who had to cope with record snowfalls while their husbands were serving from mid-January to late March in a far more benevolent clime.


(My cousin was born at CFS Bermuda. :) )

It sounds like "The Order of the Shovel" is a medal that was struck by the soldiers to commemorate something they went through.

   



raydan @ Thu Jan 27, 2022 8:32 am

Thanks, I'll have to go through that document to see if something's familiar.

   



Scape @ Fri Jan 28, 2022 1:55 pm


   



Scape @ Tue Feb 01, 2022 7:19 pm

   



rickc @ Wed Feb 02, 2022 4:31 pm

This is a pretty cool video if you are into military aviation.

   



Scape @ Tue Feb 08, 2022 9:11 pm

   



raydan @ Wed Feb 09, 2022 10:06 am

I like this because of the "Alt-Right" part.

Image

   



Scape @ Fri Feb 11, 2022 6:52 pm

   



Scape @ Sat Feb 19, 2022 1:16 am

   



Scape @ Wed Mar 02, 2022 7:28 pm

   



REPLY

Previous  1 ... 8  9  10  11  12  13  14  Next