Canada Kicks Ass
Delurking...

1  2  Next

RSKennan @ Wed Nov 17, 2004 11:18 pm

...I guess I've delurked now. Might as well introduce myself.

When I was young I lived in Buffalo NY, and my family would take day trips over the border. I've wanted to move there ever since. I won't make this a long introduction, but let me just say that I've long admired Canada, and can't wait until I'm able to call it my country.

I'm a young writer in the US with a wife and son. We're beginning the process of moving to Canada. This move, while encouraged by the current political climate in the US, is not because of it, but rather because of a multitude of positve reasons to become Canadian. It's late where I am, so I'll list a few, but I can't get to them all:

Climate and Weather - I love the snow and mild summers! Winter sports are are the only ones I get into.

The Wilderness What else can I say? I love camping and hiking.

Social Programs - Which I would likely contribute to more than I would recieve, as I am on my way in my career.

Politics -Non-aggression is good. Peacekeeping is good. Being part of the UN is good. Socialized medicine is the only human thing to do. The death penalty is hypocritical.

The Creativity of Canadians- Look at all the film stars, musicians, artists. writers and other creatives that come from Canada!

Freedom of and from religion You guys seem to get it right more often than not.

There's a lot more, but as I've said, it's late here so I'll leave it at that. Anyway, thank you for having this site, and for welcoming people like me.

Rev_Blair @ Thu Nov 18, 2004 5:41 am

Hey RS, welcome to the board. What part of Canada are you considering moving to? What do you write?

-Mario- @ Thu Nov 18, 2004 5:46 am

Hey RS, Welcome to the board. Looking foward to exchange views.

RSKennan @ Thu Nov 18, 2004 7:20 pm

Hey guys, thanks.