Canada Kicks Ass
Hi everyone, looking for best place to live in Canada.

Montgomery @ Sun May 23, 2004 12:44 pm

Hi from a new guy, living in Ontario(Mississauga)
I come here for info on other places and standards of living in other parts of Canada because i'm consdidering moving out of Ontario.
I would like some feedback from Canadians as to which parts of Canada offer great, and importantly affordable living where your dollar goes further. Im tired of living in Ontario where I pay a premium just to live in the biggest business centre in Canada. And the level of services isn't that hot either. Only good thing is high wages and lots of work.
I'm a single guy, 34, looking to at first rent in a nice neighbourhood, near a big city for work. Im an A-Z driver and in Ontario I can earn arounf $16-21/hour.
I hope that gives an idea of what i'm looking for.
Here's a recent study comparing costs of living throughout Canada, but numbers dont tell the whole story.
http://www.gov.mb.ca/itm/invest/advantage/p_costs.html

Also I would like to say i'm glad to see a Canadian centric website where Candians all over can get together and talk.
And one more thing. You guys spend too much time obsessing on the U.S.
Just say " America? What's America?" and walk away. :lol:

RoyalHighlander @ Sun May 23, 2004 1:02 pm

In Alberta a GOOD Class 1 driver can make upwards of 25-30 an hour servicing the rigs.. Some are camp jobs but the pay is good and you are fed, so you can save quite a bit that way.. Lots of trucking jobs here in AB and in BC.. If you have moountain experience thats even better ... Edmonton isnt too bad a place to look

Sun classifieds
http://4665555.com/

Edmoton Journal classifieds
http://classifieds.canada.com/edmonton/

Montgomery @ Sun May 23, 2004 1:07 pm

Thats great thanks, but what I'm also looking for is info on costs of living as well. And what its actually like living in these cities on a day to day basis.

SeaLynx @ Sun May 23, 2004 1:23 pm