Canada Kicks Ass
Travelling to Canada for the summer?

phairness @ Mon Feb 12, 2007 7:29 pm

Hey everyone. I hope this is the correct place to post this. Im a 22 year old student from Ireland and I was thinking of going to Canada, Toronto to be exact for the summer. I have a few questions and would be very thankful if you could help me.
First of all do you think it would be difficult to find a job?
What are accomodation costs like and is the standard high?
What is the standard pay for someone in my situation?
and finally Is the cost of living in general expensive?

Thanks in advance

Arctic_Menace @ Mon Feb 12, 2007 7:48 pm

You could probably find some families willing to take you in for the summer, but youth hostels work just as well. Be warned, Toronto is one of our most expensive cities.

You could find a job pretty easily, but you couldn't be terribly picky. Most grocery stores, pubs and large corporate businesses are usually hiring.

Unfortunately, I don't know the standard pay for someone in your situation. :(

Anyway, hope this helps a bit...

Wada @ Mon Feb 12, 2007 7:52 pm

If Toronto is your preference I can't be of much help. A summer at Banff Springs Hotel, as an example might be more profitable. Room and board and lots of fun. Maybe there is something similar in Toronto that Tricks or whoever might be aware of. Good Luck and I'm sure you'll a good time wherever. :D

stratos @ Mon Feb 12, 2007 7:52 pm

also beware of a predator named Artic Menace he stalks the youth hostels looking for love.

:wink:

Arctic_Menace @ Mon Feb 12, 2007 7:56 pm

$1:
also beware of a predator named Artic Menace he stalks the youth hostels looking for love.

Nah, I just help out the hot female tourists and I usually get rewarded. :wink: :D

Arctic_Menace @ Mon Feb 12, 2007 7:57 pm

$1:
Artic Menace

God damn it future adoptive dad, the least you could do is get my name right! :roll:

ziggy @ Mon Feb 12, 2007 7:59 pm

Arctic_Menace Arctic_Menace:
$1:
Artic Menace